General Skilled Migration

The General Skilled Migration program is a points & invite based visa pathway for skilled individuals or families looking to migrate to Australia to fill skills gaps in the Australian economy.


Unrestricted Work Rights

Study Rights

Pathway to Permanent Residency

Access to Medicare

Does not require employer sponsorship

Allows for unlimited travel in and out of Australia

Do you qualify?

Please answer the below section to check your eligibility for General Skilled Migration:

Almost There...

Please complete the below section so we can get in touch with you to discuss your eligibility for General Skilled Migration in further detail.

Types of General Skilled Migration Visas

189 Visa

This permanent residency visa allows skilled workers to work, live and study in Australia. It does not require employer/state/territory sponsorship but requires a minimum of 65 points to become eligible to be invited to apply for the visa.

190 Visa

This permanent residency visa allows skilled workers nominated by an Australian state or territory government to live and work in Australia indefinitely. You must have a state or territory to sponsor you and have a score of at least 65 points to be eligible to be invited to apply for the visa.

491 Visa

This temporary visa allows skilled migrants to live, work and study in a designated regional area of Australia for five years. You must achieve a score of at least 65 points in your expression of interest and be nominated by an eligible relative living in a designated area, or an Australian state/territory, to be invited to apply for this visa. Subclass 491 visa holders can apply for a permanent residency visa after three years from when the 491 visa is granted.

General Skilled Migration Timeline

The below timeline outlines the steps for you to be able to achieve permanent residency through the general skilled migration pathway:

Step 1

Identify your Occupation from the Skilled Occupation List

Step 2

Understand your visa options

Step 3

Check your Eligibility

Step 4

Complete your Skills Assessment

Step 5

Apply for Expression of Interest

Step 6

Apply for State/Territory Nomination

Step 7

Wait for an Invitation

Step 8

Apply for Visa

What is the Skilled Occupation List?

The skilled occupation list of Australia is a list of occupations Australia needs to fill skill shortages. Australia has three skilled occupation lists:


Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List (MLTSSL)

The MLTSSL is relevant to individuals who apply for visas under any Skilled Migrant Category. The three Skilled Migrant visas that fall under the MLTSSL are the following:

  1. Skilled Independent visa (subclass 189) 
  2. Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190)
  3. The Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 491)


Short-term Skilled Occupation List (STSOL)

The STSOL is relevant to individuals who have secured a state or territory nomination to apply for one of the below visas:

STSOL List is not eligible for the Subclass 189 visa pathway.


Regional Occupation List (ROL)

The ROL applies to skilled migrants applying for a regional visa nominated by a state, territory, or regional employer.

There is only one relevant visa under the ROL via GSM:

No, you need to be invited to apply for all General Skilled Migration visas.

You will need a minimum of 65 points to submit an expression of interest.

Yes, you can include members of your family unit, such as your spouse/partner and dependent children to your visa application.

The Department sets a limit, also known as an occupation ceiling, for each occupation category, on the number of skilled migrants invited per program year. If occupations reach their limit before the end of the financial year, no new invitations will be issued for skilled applicants until the following financial year.

Yes, once you have lodged your EOI, it is valid only for two years. You will need to re-lodge a new EOI, upon its expiry.

If you have not yet received an invitation, we suggest you amend your EOI with the correct information as soon as possible. If the Department has invited you and you go on to lodge the visa application based off points that you cannot evidence, the Department will most probably refuse your application. If you believe you have overinflated your points, get in touch with us, and we will advise you on the best way forward.

If your current visa (substantive or bridging visa) does not have a condition that restricts you from working, you can work in Australia. 

Current processing Time

The general processing times set by the Department for General Skilled Migration are as follows:

Subclass 189

75% of applications: 17 months
90% of applications: 28 months

Subclass 190

75% of applications: 4 months
90% of applications: 15 months

Subclass 491

75% of applications: 24 months
90% of applications: 31 months

Individual processing times for any given application may vary depending on an applicant’s specific circumstances, their country of origin, as well as the quality of the application lodged with the Department of Home Affairs, i.e., a decision ready application in compliance with all legislative and policy criteria.

General Skilled Migration Costs

  • Skills Assessment Cost Varies

    Paid directly to the relevant skills assessing authority.

  • Expression of Interest Free
  • State/Regional Nomination Cost Varies

    Paid directly to the state you are seeking nomination from if applicable.

  • GSM Visa Application AUD 4,115.00

    Paid directly to the Department of Home Affairs at time of application: Visa application fee of $4,115.00 for the main applicant, $2,055.00 for any dependents over 18 and $1,030.00 for each dependent under 18.

  • Medical Examination Approx AUD350

    Paid directly to the panel clinic/hospital that undertakes the medical examination for the applicants.

  • Police Checks Cost Varies

    Paid directly to the relevant authorities that issue national/state level police/character checks for the applicants/sponsor.

Covid-19 Update

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, The Department has introduced the ‘Priority Migration Skilled Occupation List’ (PMSOL). The list identifies 44 ​occupations that fill critical skills needs to support Australia’s economic recovery from COVID-19. General Skilled visa applicants having a nominated occupation on the PMSOL have also had their visas priority processed in recent months.

What Our Clients Think

We are most proud of our client relationships… Satisfied clients are the most important thing for us – so here’s what they have to say….

Disclaimer: The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. Further, this info is subject to constant change based on any changes in the law, and therefore, is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute a solicitor-client relationship. The reader should consult with an immigration lawyer prior to lodging any application as each lawful case may be different.